Specialized Scholarships

Specialized scholarships allow the Greek America Foundation to further support education in our community and reward deserving students with financial support they deserve and need in order to complete their studies, by allowing families and businesses to name awards on an annual basis.

These scholarships allow members of our community to designate scholarships tailored to their specific educational endeavors. By integrating these scholarships, we are providing an outlet for members of our community to connect and to help each other in our growth as a community overall.

Specialized scholarships are donated by families or individuals based on their interests (educational, geographical, heritage, etc). A scholarship can be a tribute, a testament, or a torch to inspire, memorialize, commemorate or reward.

Your gift is a lasting legacy for Greek America’s future. We are all stakeholders in that legacy. If you have a scholarship you are interested in creating through the Greek America Foundation, please contact us.


The Constantine and Patricia Mavroyannis Scholarship

The Constantine and Patricia Mavroyannis Scholarship is open to graduate students who are either Greek or of Greek heritage and are enrolled in a PhD program in either theoretical physics or physical chemistry in the faculty of science at a North American university. The $5,000 scholarship is awarded on an annual basis in the fall semester.

The purpose of the Constantine and Patricia Mavroyannis Scholarship is to recognize the importance of education. Specifically, it aims to reward and encourage educational achievement and support Greeks’ contributions to the global scientific community.

The scholarship honors the life and accomplishments of Dr. Constantine Mavroyannis, a career physicist with the National Research Council of Canada, and his wife Patricia.

To date, 18 scholarships have been awarded, totaling $90,000.



Katerina Chatziioannou, Montana State University
Lampros Lamprou, Stanford University

Fani Dosopoulou, Northwestern University
Eleni-Alexandra Kontou, Tufts University

Vasilis Stylianou, University of Southern California
Christos Tzounis, University of Alberta (Canada)

Stathis Megas, UCLA
Anna-Maria Taki, New York University

Eleana Makri, Wesleyan University
Georgios Stamokostas, University of Texas (Austin)
Ioannis Tsiares, McGill University (Canada)

Marios Galanis, Stanford University
Georgios Gounaris, University of Pennsylvania
Elias Kokkas, University of Tennessee (Knoxville)
Panagiotis Stavropoulos, University of Toronto
Houri Christina Tarazi, Harvard University

Konstantinos Roumpedakis, Stony Brook University
Georgios Styliaris, University of Southern California

Click here to read about 2019 recipients